Divorce in Utah

Whether you’ve been thinking about divorce for a long time or you’re just beginning to explore your options, you’re in the right place. The divorce process involves three major steps (filing, serving, and then working out a settlement agreement and other divorce terms). However, rules, forms, and fees vary by state or even by county. Scroll down this page to find our most useful (and free) resources to guide you before, during, and after divorce in Utah. 

Manage your Utah divorce in one place with our Next Chapter Dashboard

divorce in UT

Important Information About Divorce in Utah

Filing for divorce in Utah is relatively simple, but actually getting divorced requires a long list of forms. But no need to get overwhelmed – we explain all the steps to you and our Divorce Navigator software guides you through all the forms. If you get stuck, we can help. To get started, check out some of our most helpful resources for divorce in the state of Utah. 

Top Resources for Divorce in your state

Utah Marriage & Divorce Laws

Utah is a no-fault state, so you need not cite any reason for your divorceHowever, there are several laws and state rules to be aware of. See our resources below for key information.

Resources for Marriage and Divorce Laws in your state

Finances, Property and Support

One of the most stressful parts of divorce is deciding who gets what and determining who must pay off marital debt. Spouses must reach agreements on things like splitting assets and debts, either on their own or with outside help from a mediator, financial advisor or attorney.

Marital Property

Utah is an "equitable distribution" or "marital property" state as opposed to a "community property" state. This means that the marital property is divided in an "equitable" manner.

Mandatory Courses

These classes are required for parents of minor children. The petitioner has 60 days after filing the Petition for Divorce, and the respondent must attend the courses within 30 days of being served.

Child Support Calculator

Child support can be granted during divorce, temporary separation, or as separate maintenance. Generally speaking, there is a legal duty for parents to support their children under the age of 18 but there are exceptions

Custodial Parent Rights

Want to move your children out of town, perhaps long-distance? Know your rights as a custodial or non-custodial parent.

Other Important Topics about Divorce in Utah 

Just as every couple is different, so is every divorce. Some couples can use checklists and other free resources to DIY their divorce through the Utah court system, while others need more help. 

Others, including couples with at least one spouse in the military or couples with complicated scenarios (substantial assets, debts, custody concerns, an uncooperative spouse), must follow additional rules.